## **VARIAN AWARD**

The Varian Award is given to a practising radiation therapist in Australia who has made a significant contribution to the field of radiation therapy. This annual award is generously sponsored by Varian Medical Systems Australia. Honouring high achievement in Radiation Therapy, it recognises very significant contributions by a radiation therapist to the profession and advancing patient care in Australia over many years. It also reflects acknowledgement by one's peers of a demonstrated commitment to the professional community and ASMIRT.

Contributions to the profession and patient care can manifest in many and varied ways. Importantly though, the award highlights the "extra yards" that award winners have gone, usually over many years, in advancing the profession, patient care, professional education and development, and promoting the role and purpose of ASMIRT.

The award consists of a monetary Travel Award and a commemorative plaque which will be presented at the next ASMIRT Conference, held in Darwin, NT from 9-12 May 2024. The award winner will be invited to present on a topic of their choice.

## **Nominations**

Radiation therapists may self-nominate or be nominated by others. Nominations are received and assessed by the Radiation Therapy Reference Group (RTRG) who then make a recommendation to the Board of ASMIRT. Nominees must have been a member of ASMIRT for at least five years.

If you know a radiation therapist who you think has gone those "extra yards" why not nominate them for the award? Send your nomination to the Radiation Therapy Reference Group via email to <a href="min.ku@asmirt.org">min.ku@asmirt.org</a>

ASMIRT expresses its gratitude to Varian – A Siemens Healthineers Company for the generous and continued support of this prestigious award.





T +61 3 9419 3336 F +61 3 9416 0783 W www.asmirt.org



## **Previous Varian Award Recipients**

2001 Marianne Hercus

2002 Wendy Kramer

2004 Jennifer Cox

2005 Aldo Rolfo

2006 Greg Rattray

2007 Annette McCormack

2009 Shane Dempsey

2010 Leigh Smith

2011 Sharon Maresse

2012 Jennie Baxter

2013 Collin Hornby

2014 Bronwyn Hilder

2015 David Willis

2016 Cherry Agustin

2017 Marianne Rinks

2018 Rachel Kearvell

2019 Sarah Everitt

2021 Jo Page

2022 Nigel Anderson

2023 Caroline Wright

