

VARIAN AWARD

The Varian Award is given to a practising radiation therapist in Australia who has made a significant contribution to the field of radiation therapy. This annual award is generously sponsored by Varian Medical Systems Australia. Honouring high achievement in Radiation Therapy, it recognises very significant contributions by a radiation therapist to the profession and advancing patient care in Australia over many years. It also reflects acknowledgement by one's peers of a demonstrated commitment to the professional community and ASMIRT.

Contributions to the profession and patient care can manifest in many and varied ways. Importantly though, the award highlights the "extra yards" that award winners have gone, usually over many years, in advancing the profession, patient care, professional education and development, and promoting the role and purpose of ASMIRT.

The award consists of a monetary Travel Award and a commemorative plaque which will be presented at the next ASMIRT Conference, held in SA from 28 – 30 March 2025. The award winner will be invited to present on a topic of their choice.

Nominations

Radiation therapists must be nominated by others. Nominees must have been a member of ASMIRT for at least five years continuous membership. If you know a radiation therapist who you think has gone those "extra yards" why not nominate them for the award?

Nominations must be received by the close date of 31 October 2024. They will then be assessed by the Radiation Therapy Reference Group (RTRG), who then make a recommendation to the Board of Directors of ASMIRT.

Send your nomination to the Radiation Therapy Reference Group via email to min.ku@asmirt.org

ASMIRT expresses its gratitude to Varian – A Siemens Healthineers Company for the generous and continued support of this prestigious award.

varian

A Siemens Healthineers Company



Previous Varian Award Recipients

	l .	
1991	Hilary Heindorff – Inaugural Winner	QLD
1992	Greg Brown	VIC
1993	Marcia Fleet	VIC
1994	Christine Manderson OAM	NSW
1995	Jocelyn Murray	VIC
1996	Josephine Smylie	VIC
1997	Murray Schirmer	SA
1998	Julie Wills	VIC
1999	Joycelyn Cottrell	SA
2000	Kay Hatherley	VIC
2001	Wendy Schumer	VIC
2002	Marianne Hercus	TAS
2004	Wendy Kramer	NSW
2005	Jennifer Cox	NSW
2006	Aldo Rolfo	VIC
2007	Greg Rattray	QLD
2008	Annette McCormack	VIC
2009	Shane Dempsey	NSW
2010	Leigh Smith	VIC
2011	Sharon Maresse	WA
2012	Jennie Baxter	NSW
2013	Collin Hornby	VIC
2014	Bronwyn Hilder	TAS
2015	David Willis	NSW
2016	Cherry Agustin	NSW
2017	Marianne Rinks	NSW
2018	Rachel Kearvell	SA
2019	Sarah Everitt	VIC
2021	Jo Page	NSW
2022	Nigel Anderson	VIC
2023	Caroline Wright	VIC